FAQ’S

Michigan SOS Approved Basic Driver Improvement Course FAQs:

Basic Driver Improvement Courses are courses offered by sponsors approved by the State of Michigan. Passing a BDIC permits drivers with an opportunity to avoid points on their records and the ticket information from being sent to insurance companies. The driver must be eligible to take the course and may only avoid points once under this program.

You will receive a letter in the mail if you are eligible for this program. You may be eligible if you were ticketed on or after December 31, 2010 and:
• You have a valid, non-commercial license, with two or fewer points on your record,
• The violation was not in a Commercial Motor Vehicle,
• The violation was not a criminal offense,
• The ticket you received is eligible (e.g., must be for three or fewer points, not for careless or negligent driving, etc.) For a full list, please see the related link below.

Most minor traffic violations for which you were ticketed on or after December 31, 2010, are eligible for this program. You must not be disqualified from participating for any other reason.

In order for us to report a course completion to the Michigan Department of State, you will need to provide both your driver’s license number and your “course completion deadline” (which is found on your letter) If you do not know this information, you may contact the Michigan Secretary of State to obtain it.

You have until midnight on the day of your course completion deadline date that is found on your letter. If your deadline date has passed, your violation and its points will appear on your record and be made available to insurance companies. However, the Michigan Department of State will send you a notice if you are eligible to attend a Basic Driver Improvement Course for subsequent tickets.

Out-of-state tickets are not eligible for the Basic Driver Improvement Course.

 • Tickets remain on your record for a minimum of seven years, depending on the type of license and the type of ticket(s) received.
• Alcohol and controlled substances related driving convictions remain on your record for life.

You are disqualified if any of the following are true:
• You are in the 60-day period of BDIC eligibility for a previous ticket
• You have already avoided points under this program
• Your license is restricted, suspended, or revoked or you were not issued a Michigan license
• You have three or more points on your record
• You held a Commercial Driver’s License or were operating a Commercial Vehicle at the time of the ticket
• The ticket you received is not eligible for the program

If you do not pass the BDIC within 60 days of the notice of eligibility, the points and the violation will be on your record and available to insurance companies.

The BDIC course providers will notify the Michigan Department of State (SOS) electronically that you have passed the course. The Michigan Department of State won’t add any points from the ticket to your driving record and won’t show the traffic ticket information to your insurance companies. The ticket information (but not the traffic points) is still placed on your record, though, and may be used for other purposes.

You are still responsible for any court fees or fines and other expenses related to your traffic ticket.

Under Michigan law, insurance companies use a separate point system for evaluating violations. If you take and pass the optional BDIC, the Secretary of State will not disclose the ticket to your insurance company.

Also check Michigan SOS point system
Please remember, you may only take and pass the Michigan Basic Driver Improvement online course one time to avoid having the information made available to your insurance company.

When you receive four points in any two-year period, you will receive a letter advising you that you have more points than the average Michigan driver and need to be careful of your driving habits. At eight points, you will receive a warning letter which advises you that you are nearing the point where you will be scheduled for a reexamination if you do not improve your driving habits. At twelve points, you will be requested to come in for a driver reexamination at which time, your driving privileges could be suspended.

How long do points stay on your license in Michigan – Points remain on a driving record for two years from the date of conviction. Insurance laws dictate the point system used by the insurance companies

Insurance companies assign insurance eligibility points for certain traffic violations. Insurance eligibility points are not the same as points on your official driving record! They are simply a guide to help the company decide whether you are eligible for auto insurance. You can be turned down for auto insurance if you have 7 eligibility points from violations within the past three years.

Michigan DMV Traffic Violations and Points System:
• Driving more than 15 mph over the speed limit (careless driving) – 4 points
• Driving 11-15 mph over the speed limit – 3 points
• Driving 15 mph or less over the speed limit on freeways which used to have a maximum speed limit of 70 mph – 2 points
• Other moving violations – 2 points
• The first accident in which you are more than 50% at fault – 3 points
• The second and all following accidents in which you are more than 50% at fault – 4 points

You have 60 days to pass the Michigan BDIC. There is no limit to the number of attempts in order to pass. We only charge a one time fee of $39 while other companies will charge you a course fee, state reporting fee, and a certificate fee.

If you do not pass the BDIC within 60 days of the notice of eligibility, the points and the violation will be on your record and available to insurance companies. However, if you receive a subsequent ticket and are notified that you are eligible again, you may attempt the BDIC for the subsequent ticket.

The Michigan DOS requires that you take a 4- hour course in order to avoid points from being placed on your driving record. The course could be completed in a minimum of 4 hours but does not need to be done all at once, you can log-in log-out taking breaking and resume the course at your comfort.